Guest Submission: Tuesday’s Top Ten: Fighting Games


Only a few days and already we have another guest submission!  This one is again by White Wolf, who today brings us our Tuesday’s Top Ten!  Today, he’ll go through his top ten fighting games.

As usual, all I’ve done is format the text, add links, and give it the barest hint of editing.  The words are his, so let’s get right to them.

This week is a bit different. I am going to go through a list of what I believe to be the top ten fighting games. This list this week is based off my personal opinion of fighting games and not on sales, though many I list will be common to most.

From my early days of gaming fighting games have been a big part of it. Growing up with two older brothers; fighting games were one of the few genres that made it easy to pass the controller back and forth.  To this day I still play many fighting games and find them to be just as good as the past fighting games.  I have never been great at fighting games, though better than some. Fighting games for me have always been about two things, one the art of the fighting and two about the competition. Now when it comes to fighting games, like the older ones you may not see the art of the fighting but even in the old school games like Street Fighter, I found a grace to the characters and how they moved.

On a side note before we begin the list, As the Retro-ish Gaming Critic has said we are different in our gaming likes and dislikes. I have moved past the older generations of gaming while he has not yet. I am on X-box Live so if you are ever on there and wish to play my gamer tag is WhiteWolf2099. I hope you like this week’s top ten fighting games.

10: WWE Smack Down vs. Raw 2009 for the PlayStation 2
This one may be odd to many to find on a top ten fighting game list. While many consider wrestling to be a sports title I find it to be more of a fighting game. I will be the first to say I don’t find the WWE type of wrestling to be sport, as more a male soap opera. What makes this game a fighting game in my book, besides the two player mode is how it is put together. Taking a look at past fighting games you find all the elements of them in S.V.R.

The game play is exceptional and offers a different button system then most fighting games. The right thumb stick is used more for pulling off moves then the buttons. I found this odd at first but over time came to really enjoy it, though I will say it works well in this game but could not see myself trying to pull off Ruy’s fireball with it.

One of the things that makes this game different from most fighting games and helped make it on the list is the character customization. Few if any fighting games, up until recently offered customizing characters in fighting games and if they did it was done poorly. While the WWE games or WWF games, have been offering it since WWF War Zone for the PlayStation one.

9: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Tournament Fighters for the SNES
This game was awesome. In the style of Street Fighter you were able to play as your favorite character from the show. The game play was simple and fun, making it a very easy fighting game to pick up and play. The story was horrible but I found myself not caring since it was a turtle game and the main appeal was not the story in the first place. Being able to shoot fireballs and projectiles made it even campier to most people.

8: Mortal Kombat 2 for the SNES
A game many know and love. Mortal Kombat 2 gave players a true taste of things to come in video games, Blood, lots of blood. Still to this day many people play the Mortal Kombat series and it’s no surprise as to why. While many fighting games tried to be more like Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat came on the scene with the attitude most games in those days stayed away from. In M.K. 2 we got five more characters than the first game. Much about M.K. 2 didn’t change from the first one.

7: Street Fighter 2 for the SNES
While many put this game in the top three, I have to disagree. For myself and many others it did spawn a love for fighting games, I put it at number 7 because many fighting games would take its place as my favorites. Street Fighter 2 will for me and many others have a place in my heart but for today’s standards of gaming it doesn’t hold up well. The game is original and fun, with bright colors and music few forget. And let’s face it not many of us have forgotten how hot Chun-Li is. But for me I grew out of the characters and lost interest after the third or fourth installment.

6: Killer Instinct for the SNES
Though many people didn’t like Killer Instinct I found its game play to be more enjoyable than both previous titles. It was in my opinion a love or hate game. I preferred it over the common love for Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat since its style was like both of them but gave the gamers a whole different list of fighters. To me it was the first time ever playing and learning what a chesses character was and how to use them. Glacius and Cider who were basically the same character but both vary cheesy with their slide moves. The graphics were similar to Mortal Kombat.

5: Super Smash Bros.: Melee for the Game Cube
Ah, the ability to take our childhood characters and beat the crap out of one another. Nintendo got it right with this one. The sound was great; very over the top and cartoony. I loved playing this one with friends. Taking Mario and pitting him against Link was one of the funniest ways to play a fighting game. It had a great list of characters and gave a little verity of everything for each person’s personal favorite character. I find this to be one of those fighting games where the fun is more about seeing your favorite character mauled by a friend then the actual game play.

4: SoulCalibur 2 for the X-Box
SoulCalibur 2 was the first to offer different bonus characters depending on the system you owned. While the X-Box featured Spawn the PS2 gave you Heihachi from the Tekken series and the Game Cube owners received Link. This is one of the few games I owned on every single console, with the X-Box version being my favorite simply for Spawn. The graphics were updated from the previous version and a few game improvements made, such as the three-step soul charge system. Four new characters where added while some went away to be seen in later SoulCalibur games.

3: Tekken 3 for the PlayStation
I have to say this is one of my favorite games to this day. While the Tekken series has moved on and created many sequels, three is hands down my favorite of them all. It was the first fighting game I had played that used real fighting styles. For the time it was a truly unique thing to see in fighting games. And yes I used Eddy and Tiger as my main characters.  I think one of the greatest things about this game was Tekken Force. Much like the Final Fight or Streets of Rage game style, you were able to take a Tekken character and play through side scrolling levels. The other mini game was called Tekken Ball. With the side mini-games Tekken 3 never took away from anything else in the game. It was one of the few fighting games to use all of the system memory to its advantage, thus giving gamers more in a fighting game than just fighting.

2: Marvel vs. Capcom 2: New Age of Heroes for the PlayStation 2
Ah, a game full of characters and fun. Marvel vs. Capcom 2 is actually the fourth installment in the series. This game blew many gamers away, never had we seen a fighting game with fifty-six playable characters. The graphics were much like fighting games at the time. What made this game fun was the character list and the insane amount of moves and combos you could pull off. The sound is upbeat and helped give the gamer a scene of excitement and intensity while they played. It still has a huge following today, so much that they ported it to both the PS3 and X-Box 360, something not many games have the honor of. As a side note: The Retro-ish Gaming Critic still whups me at this game, though it is the only one, at least that we know of.

1: Dead or Alive 3 for the X-Box
This became my favorite fighting game almost as soon as I began playing. The characters for the first time in a fighting game felt real to me. Now in most fighting games you might think that is odd, but it was the first time were the fighting style seemed to have a huge impact on how you played the game. Sure you could button mash but, the enjoyment for me was figuring out how to use Tina who uses wrestling moves against Christie’s She Quan fighting style. The graphics, sound and story made you feel much more in the game than just playing one. While most fighting games come out with many sequels and focus on the money they can make, the Dead or Alive series is more interested with keeping you involved and making sure the game is good before release.

And there you have it, another interesting guest submission by White Wolf.  As always, our thanks go to you for your contribution.

Leave a Reply

